, , ,

Submitted By Karen Hatter

Frankfort High School Drama Club presents Barbara Robinson’s “The Best Christmas Pageant Ever,” opening Thursday at 7 p.m. in Frankfort High School’s Karen Kimmel Hatter Theatre, 328 Shelby Street. Performances continue on Friday and Saturday at 7 p.m. as well as Sunday at 3 p.m. No advance tickets will be sold. Admission is $8.00 general admission, $4.00 for students and senior citizens.

“The Best Christmas Pageant Ever” begins with Grace Bradley (Caitlyn Biggs) who, at the last minute and to the chagrin of her husband (Kennedy Hall), has to put together the annual Christmas pageant at church. Much to her dismay, the Herdman children, portrayed this year by Rachel Poston, Leah Hibbitts, Morton McIntyre, Abby Biggs, Amelia Wilkerson and Erin Cunningham) decide to take over all the major roles in the play. And the Herdman kids are the worst, most horrible kids in town. Not only have they never heard the Christmas story, but they have never even been in a church! Fortunately, as rehearsals progress and the spirit of the season would dictate, a beautiful pageant is produced, with the Herdman children “making” the show instead of “breaking” it.

This show is guaranteed to make you laugh and warm your heart. “The Best Christmas Pageant Ever” involves over 50 students from our community. There are representatives, not only from the Frankfort High School and Second Street School, but also from Bondurant Middle, Elkhorn Elementary and Middle, Collins Lane, Good Shepherd, Scott County Middle, Hearn, Elkhorn Elementary and Middle, Westridge, Tates Creek Elementary in Fayette Co., and students who are being home schooled.

Appearing in the show as the narrator Beth and her little brother Charlie are Rebecca Vaught and Jack Atchley. The rest of the cast is composed of Mackenzie Adcock, Brooke Aldridge, Kenzie Barber, Bella Barton, Katie Cole, Travis Dearborn, Lily Effron, Riley Gillis, Haley Harrod, Kaja Jaques, Amiyah Jones, Katelyn Judd, Kaleigh Curry, John Lodmell, Lauren Lodmell, Gracie Long, Alyssa Mathers, Shyann McIntyre, Waylon McIntyre, Erin McQueen, Hannah Miller, Maddi Mutchler, Finley Paul, Jamaya Rainer, Destiny Romans, Leah Rome, Molly Rupinen, Ellie Ryan, Halle Simons, Maddi Starkey, Amelia Thomas, Kylee VanAtter, Abby Vaught, Libby Vaught, Margi Walters, Charlotte Wilkerson, and Mason Williams. These fine folks will be accompanied by the expected choir of baby angels, who have a tendency to steal the show! And the baby angels this year are: Amani Davis, Lucy Gillis, Abby Lodmell, Luke Long, Blake Miller, Kimmel Paul, and Aaliyah Simpson.

Assisting director Andrew Tippett are Bekah Mutchler and Ellie Ryan, and the technical crew consists of Kristina Avery and Emerson Hardin.